The Code of The Flowers by Ayla Nereo

The magnetic songstress Ayla Nereo returns with an ambitious and potent offering in her fifth solo LP, The Code of the Flowers. The composer/vocalist transmits an enveloping array of styles and messages through thirteen spiritually luminescent medicine songs. Steadfastly focused on a return to the balance between our natural world and human evolution, this album is a love letter to planet earth, ornately dressed in celestial tones, campfire sing-alongs, harmonies sublime, and lush, understated instrumentation. 

Earlier this year, Nereo put the finishing touches on a fresh batch of original music and decamped to Jumpsuit Farms Studios in Northern California, hunkering down for three weeks of intensive recording. For the ceremonial convergence, Ayla was joined by multi-instrumentalists Ryan Herr and Tyson Leonard, who both play on and co-produce The Code of the Flowers. The terrific trio burned the midnight oil and was ably assisted by Ayla’s band members Amelia Rae (piano, harp, and vox) and Brian Parks (percussion and vox), as well as violinist Lydia Violet, flutist Jesse Hendrix, and longtime friends MaMuse. In assembling a diverse band of acoustic musicians, incorporating elements cinematic and technological, and manifesting what stands among her most inspired melodic poetry, Nereo has crafted an indelible testament to the movement, and a prodigious addition to her ever-evolving songbook. 


Jumpsuit Releases Delivered Straight To Your Inbox!